Djurdjevi Stupovi
Monastery Djurdjevi Stupovi, dedicated to St. George, can be seen perched on top of a hill just above the city of Novi Pazar. It was built by Stefan Nemanja in 1171, as can be read on the founder’s inscription on the western gate of the temple. The name comes from the ancient Slavic word “stlp” meaning “pillar”, probably because of the two towers that used to guard the church entrance. The church was painted in 1175.
King Dragutin later upgraded the church and painted the parvis, and the tower that used to be the entrance of the monastic complex was converted into a chapel. Monastery got deserted during the Turkish reign in 1689, and was severely damaged in the Second World War. The restauration work started in the last decade of the 20th century, when a new dormitory was built and the monastic brotherhood was established.
The monastery can easily be reached on a walk from Novi Pazar.
Details about the city itself (getting there, accommodation etc) are can be found in the “Novi Pazar” section of this web site.